The Fault in Our Stars – Book Review

Rating: 5

This book as become one of my top favorites.
I just can’t get over how amazing it was.

John Green has been critically acclaimed for some time within the writing community, but only lately some of his novels like ‘Looking For Alaska’ and ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ have managed to achieve mainstream success.
Green typically writes books for young adults, and more often than not, they end in tragedy. But not the kind of tragedy that leads you into a depression, instead it’s one that makes you analyse life in a way that makes you appreciate what you have.  See, it’s Green’s subtle talent to translate his thoughts into relatable words and make you believe that what happens in his books could have happened to you. He writes for you rather than to you, and he presents the events in such a way that you don’t feel like you’re reading someone else’s story.
When I first jumped into The Fault In Our Stars I wasn’t quite sure what I was getting myself into, considering that so many people were recommending it to others and that it had such an unbelievable rating. I’ve fallen into the trap of people recommending popular books that left me wondering why they were so successful in the first place many times before.

The Fault in Our Stars is about a young cancer-ridden girl, Hazel Grace Lancaster. Surviving on borrowed time, Hazel’s story takes an unexpected turn when she meets Augustus Waters, a handsome young man who fought cancer himself. While cancer is a touchy topic from any angle, Green masterfully uses that to his advantage as he explores the love story of people who literally have to appreciate every moment and the end result is beautiful.

The Fault in Our Stars is an exceptionally powerful story. It is told completely from Hazel’s point of view, and her unconventional thoughts on her disease and experiences are surprising and refreshing.

Augustus is also a fascinating character, perhaps partially because the readers aren’t in his head, and he’s therefore more of a mystery than Hazel. He’s definitely eccentric, and he proves this early in the book when he puts a cigarette in his mouth. He explains he never smokes, but says it’s a metaphor: “You put the killing thing right between your teeth, but you don’t give it the power to do its killing.”

I just have such strong feelings about this book, that I can’t seem to find the right words to write.

I totally recommend this book, is such an amazing read, full of love, laughter and the inevitable tears.

This was my first John Green novel.  I Loved it with a capital “L”.  The exquisite and emotional story tugged at me in ways very few novels have.  I can probably tick them off on one hand, honestly.  Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters are like two star-crossed lovers in my mind.  Fated, but their infinity together is unfairly small.  Bound together by cancer, they bond, not just with each other, but with the idea that they will not live forever, so they must live now.  And live they do.

John Green doesn’t keep The Fault In Our Stars all sobs and heartbreak.  He somehow knows what it’s like, that to have cancer, you must have a sense of humor about life and all the things in it.  So many scenes, or small quotes from the characters themselves had me laughing out loud.  I quickly fell in love with all of them.

One of the things that I most loved about this book  is the realistic concept, rather than a, “Surprise!  You’re cured!” approach I think some authors would take. There is no happily-ever-after in this story.  There is only before and after.   Green is not afraid to make his readers feel, or think.  And that’s what The Fault In Our Stars does:  it makes you think, about life, death, mortality, the Before and the After, and what you are making of your life now.

Basically what I’m saying is, this book deserves the highest praise and I bow down its greatness and John Green.
I just have such strong feelings about this book ❤ ❤

 

Ana

simple-daisy-md

2 thoughts on “The Fault in Our Stars – Book Review

Leave a comment